• Short Summary

    The first executive secretary and managing director of the Development and Co-operation Fund will come from Ivory Coast and Liberia respectively.

  • Description


    GV Conference centre in Lome with troops parading outside
    GV Delegates to summit arriving
    SV PAN FROM Portrait of Gen. Gnassingbe Eyadema TO delegates and Eyadema speaking
    SV Delegates listening
    SV Eyadema speaking
    SV PAN Delegates listen
    SV Houphouet-Boigny of Ivory coast signing documents
    SV President William Tolbert of Liberia signing
    SV President Moktar Ould Daddah of Mauritania signing documents
    SV General Olusegun Obsanjo of Nigeria signing
    SV President Leopold Senghor of Senegal signing
    SV General Eyadema signing document
    GV Delegates at conference

    Initials BB/1830
    Script is copyright Reuters Limited. All rights reserved

    Background: The first executive secretary and managing director of the Development and Co-operation Fund will come from Ivory Coast and Liberia respectively. Nigeria has opposed the formula for contributions which is based on a coefficient taking into account the gross domestic product and per capita income of all member states, but apparently bowed to the wishes of other states.
    Heads of state and senior representatives of 15 African states met in Lome, capital of togo last thursday and Friday (4 & 5 November) for talks on the setting up of an Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).
    The charter for the setting up of ECOWAS was signed in Lagos, Nigeria, last year, and the meeting in Lome discussed five protocols which were to be added to the charter to cover the organisation and funding of the community, and their approval would mean the effective establishment of a community grouping of 130 million Africans.
    Delegates were addressed by the Togolese leader, General Gnassingbe Eyadema. Togo has been one of the main forces behind the setting up of the West African community, along with Nigeria which is the most populous and richest country in the grouping. general Eyadema proposed a formal treaty between member states renouncing the use of force in solving disputes. This non-aggression pact was noted with interest by other member states of ECOWAS.
    The heads of state agreed at the conference to locate the secretariat of ECOWAS in Lagos and the headquarters of its fund in Lome. This decision was seen as a reward for Nigeria and Togo in their pioneering work. President Felix Houphouet-Boigny of Ivory coast was one of those to sign the new protocols, along with president William Tolbert of Liberia, and President Moktar Ould Daddah of Mauritania.
    Others to sign the protocols were General Olusegun Obsanjo of Nigeria and President Leopold Sanghor of Senegal. The five protocols deal with loss of revenue which members may suffer, re-exporation within the community of goods imported from third countries, contributions by members to the organisation's budget and to funds for co-operation, compensation and development. General Eyadema signed the protocols for Togo.

  • Tags

  • Data

    Film ID:
    Media URN:
    Reuters - Including Visnews
    Issue Date:
    HD Format:
    Available on request
    Time in/Out:

Comments (0)

We always welcome comments and more information about our films.
All posts are reactively checked. Libellous and abusive comments are forbidden.

Add your comment