• Short Summary

    Gretel II, the Australian challenger for the America's Cup, was disqualified from Sunday's ( Sept. 20) second race in the seven-race series.

  • Description

    1.
    LV PAN Gretel in shipyard with damaged bow (2 shots)
    0.11

    2.
    LV exterior Press H.Q. and sign (2 shots)
    0.16

    3.
    SV & CU Dev Barker speaks
    1.26

    4.
    SV press
    1.28

    5.
    SV Martin Visser (right) seated with officials
    1.31

    6.
    CU Visser speaks
    3.10


    TRANSCRIPTS:



    SEQ. 3: DEV. BARKER: "Gentlemen, the match stands at two-zero in favour of Intrepid. Both yachts were approaching the starting line to start within the intent of Rule 42, point I E. Prior to the starting signal, Gretel II was under now obligation to give Intrepid room to pass to the Leeward of the committee boat. After the starting-signal however, Gretel II acquired an obligation, as soon as the yachts were overlapped, not to deprive Intrepid of room to pass on the required side of the committee boat by sailing above close haul. Had Gretel II fulfilled her obligation to fall off to a close haul course under rule 42, point I E, Intrepid would have had room to pass between Gretel II and the committee boat. Therefore Gretel II is disqualified for infringement of Rule 42, point I E."



    SEQ. 6: MARTIN VISSER: "We don't agree that the Rule 42 was revelant to the case. We focused upon Rule 37, 2 which means a boat clear astern keeps clear of a boat clear ahead. We had a picture to prove that at gunfire - this picture showed the smoke and the ....(indistinct) going up on the boat, indicating that the gun had fired for the start -- that picture showed that we were clear ahead of Intrepid. This was within one-half of a boat length from "Incredible" after gunfire, "Incredible" becomes a normal mark off the course, like an ordinary mark. While Intrepid didn't have an overlap in time within the boat length of the committee boat, she had no right to ask room around the committee boat. And as far as we were concerned, we feel that rule 42 E did apply to us because 42 E applies to boats that are overlapped. At that stage we were not overlapped and 42 will not apply. So we feel that the case of Intrepid was a typical case of barging, of forcing a passage, and I can assure you that if we get caught like that in one of the next races we will go home. (Applause)."




    Initials PAF/MR/PS/1637 PAF/MR/BJ/1625


    SPORT: YACHT RACING

    Script is copyright Reuters Limited. All rights reserved

    Background: Gretel II, the Australian challenger for the America's Cup, was disqualified from Sunday's ( Sept. 20) second race in the seven-race series. Gretel Ii finished 67 seconds ahead of the U.S. defender Intrepid, after both yachts collided at the start.

    The decision was announced at a Press Conference yesterday ( Monday 21 September ) by Chairman of the race committee Dev. Barker.

    Martin Visser, one of Gretel's crew, expressed the Australian's anger at the decision and warned that if it happened again, they would withdraw from the series.

    This is only the second time in the race's 119-year history that a race has been lost on a foul.

  • Tags

  • Data

    Film ID:
    VLVA5RZQF7XRJ0HZJR5J4FGRUZFJI
    Media URN:
    VLVA5RZQF7XRJ0HZJR5J4FGRUZFJI
    Group:
    Reuters - Source to be Verified
    Archive:
    Reuters
    Issue Date:
    22/09/1970
    Sound:
    Unknown
    HD Format:
    Available on request
    Stock:
    Colour
    Duration:
    00:03:11:00
    Time in/Out:
    /
    Canister:
    N/A

Comments (0)

We always welcome comments and more information about our films.
All posts are reactively checked. Libellous and abusive comments are forbidden.

Add your comment